Losing Weight for Vacation- The Diet Plan

We’re leaving in one week from today for our fabulous 3 day weekend at Terranea Resort in Rancho Palos Verdes, CA.

Today also marks the first day of our experiment with the 7 day weight cutting diet outlined in Jillian Michael’s Making the Cut.

I purchased this book a while ago because I like most of what Jillian has to say about eating right (go organic and local, don’t starve yourself, eat balanced, etc.) and I wanted to see how she would set up an eating plan to lose those last few vanity pounds that so many of us want to lose.

For many of us, losing 5-10 lbs won’t bring about satisfaction with our bodies. Especially if what we actually want is a different body type altogether. To give you a personal example, I’ve got shorter legs and a pear shape. As a result, having a flat-ish tummy has never been a problem, but trying to get smaller legs is a different story. After a lifetime of agonizing over my body’s shape, I decided a few years ago to just get over it. My genetics are my genetics and I can’t change them.

Do you have a good understanding of the way your body is built? Where does it tend to store and lose fat easily? Do you have a realistic “after” image in your mind of what you want to look like after you attain your goal weight?

Think about it.

Jillian’s 7 day plan is pretty much the same type of diet that fighters, figure competitors, and even celebrities use as a quick way to cut weight for the red carpet, to get ready for a photo shoot, or make weight before a fight in a short amount of time.

This week, we will lose a little bit of fat, but mostly water weight.

Can this diet be kept up for ever? No.

Will this weight loss be sustained? No.

If everything goes as planned, we’ll just look a little better by the pool for a few days, and return to our normal selves when it’s all over.

Here is what our lives will be like for the next 7 days:

100 oz. distilled water throughout the day.

Breakfast– 6 egg whites with unlimited green vegetables (cooked without oil, but I used a teeny bit of cooking spray) and salt-free seasoning.

Lunch– 5 oz. low sodium turkey lunch meat wrapped in lettuce with some tomato.

Snack– 20 almonds, or unlimited celery with fresh, salt-free peanut butter.

Dinner– 6 oz. chicken breast grilled with garlic and lemon juice served with a side of unlimited veggies (green beans, broccoli, kale…). Follow with dandelion tea, which is a digestion aid.

The meats can be switched up a little, but must be kept within the bounds of lean, low-sodium meats.

Are you thinking what I’m thinking?

No fruit?

No cheese?!

I still am amazed that I’m going to try and go a whole week without cheese.

What doesn’t kill us makes us stronger, right?

I just finished lunch and am feeling pretty good. I’ll probably feel hungry as the week progresses and maybe a little grumpy, we’ll have to see.

I’ll keep my workouts up, which consist of:

  • Moderate to high intensity cardio 30-60 min, 3-5 days per week.
  • Circuit style resistance training for 1 hour, 2-3 days per week.
  • Dance class (I try to go to a salsa or contemporary class every week).

In addition to that, I’m going to try the recommended dry sauna sessions a few times this week. Which are two 20 min sessions with a 10 min break in between. Apparently this is to help sweat out extra water.

In the days leading up to the 7- day weight cutting diet, I began meticulously tracking my calories with an online food diary, using a food scale and measuring cups/spoons to make sure I knew my portions. This always brings about weight loss because there is no question as to how many calories I’m taking in each day.

No guesswork = results!

So here goes nothin’. Wish me luck, and I’ll let you know how it all turns out!

Yours truly,

Cheeseless in California

One response to “Losing Weight for Vacation- The Diet Plan

Leave a Reply

