Losing Weight for Vacation

In two weeks (actually less now), my husband and I are going away for a much needed 3-day weekend to celebrate both my birthday and the end of the school semester (for him). Husband works really hard in school so he’s excited for the break. He’s that guy who gets upset when he gets only a 95% on his paper instead of a 100%.

That’s why he’ll be in school forever, earning three PhDs or something like that.

I would be more like, “There was a paper due today?”

Kidding. Kind of.

This place where we’re going is the most beautiful resort we’ve ever visited. It feels like we’ve gone to Hawaii, but we’ve only driven 30 min up the freeway to Rancho Palos Verdes. It’s right in our backyard!

Well, I wish it was right in our backyard, ours looks more like this.

No offense, chickens.

With just 10 days until we leave the farm and hit the road for greener pastures, we’ve got a little bit of time to lose a few pounds before we start our vacation.

I love using trips as an incentive to lose some weight for two reasons:

1. There is a clearly defined end date by which I want to achieve my goal. This way, I stay focused and am less likely to cheat.

2. I have a visual of what it will be like when I achieve my goal. I imagine myself dressed up, out at a nice dinner with my husband, or in a bikini by the pool. And I imagine how good and accomplished I’ll feel while on vacation.

In other words, it is a S.M.A.R.T. goal (Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic, Timely):

SpecificLose 3-5 lbs.

Measurable The scale will tell me if I met that goal or not.

AttainableA 3-5 lb weight-loss is possible for me to achieve.

RealisticI have 3-5 lbs to lose, so it is a realistic number. Also, 10 days is enough to do so in a healthy manner.

Timely Thursday, Dec. 17th is my deadline.

Do you have a weight loss goal you would like to achieve?

Is it the same “goal” you’ve had for yourself for many months or even years?

If you aren’t getting anywhere with your weight loss goals, try sitting down and filling out a S.M.A.R.T. Goal Setting sheet.

S.M.A.R.T. goals put you on task, they provide you with a roadmap to success, and they show you whether or not your goals are even realistic or attainable.

If you have a large weight loss goal, outline more than one S.M.A.R.T. goal for yourself.

Which of the following look more realistic to you? Which looks less daunting and make you actually want to get up and accomplish your goals?

Sally’s S.M.A.R.T. Goal #1:

SpecificLose 80 lbs.

MeasurableI will be able to measure with the scale and by a drop in clothing size.

AttainableI will work out more and diet better so I should definitely be able to attain this goal.

RealisticThis is the heaviest I’ve ever been, and dropping 80 lbs puts me above what I weighed in high school so I know this is a realistic goal.

TimelyI would like to be to my goal weight by the beginning of the summer- in approximately 23 weeks.

……

Sally’s S.M.A.R.T. Goal #2:

SpecificLose 10 lbs (long-term goal: 80 lbs).

MeasurableI will measure my progress with a scale.

AttainableI definitely have 10 lbs to lose.

Realistic I can safely and healthily lose 3.3 lbs each week.

Timely I want to achieve my goal by Dec. 28th (in 3 weeks).

I don’t know about you, but I would much rather tackle #2 than #3. Um, yeah there wasn’t a #3. Meant to say #1. Pardon my goof.

Setting a long-term goal is great, but you’ll never get where you want to be if you don’t break your large goal down into smaller increments. Also, you’ll feel a sense of accomplishment all along the way (“I’ve reached my 10 lbs goal!” vs. “10 lbs. down, 70 more to go, I’m still not there, sigh…”)

Olympic hopefuls don’t think about the medal race every time they train. They focus instead on the workout for that day, and worry about the olympics when they get there.

Sally did a great job of breaking up her weight loss into a smaller increment in goal #2. As she gets further in her weight loss, she’ll need to decrease her goal of 3.3 lbs per week to 2.5, 1, then even less than 1 lb per week.

As you get closer to your goal, the weight will come off much more slowly.

Outlining a S.M.A.R.T. goal isn’t enough, though. Next we need to specifically write out how we will go about achieving that goal.

Remember the alliteration: Proper prior planning prevents piss poor performance.

What exactly will I be doing over the next 10 days to achieve my goal, you ask?

I’ll spell it out for you in the next post!

Cheers,

Lauren

Leave a Reply

